Awards and Grants


Research awards are sponsored by Sanofi and Pharmaco/iSens & NZSSD for work in the area of diabetes. 

NZSSD also has a number of awards and grants available.

  Table of Contents:


 Studentships 2019/2020

University of Waikato/Waikato DHB

Evaluating Adherence to Diabetes Medication in Primary Care

University of Otago, Chch/NZNO

50 year incidence of type 1 diabetes diagnosed 0 – 15 years in Canterbury: 1970 – 2019


The Executive Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 research awards:

Pharmaco/iSens Award  – Shiva Reddy "Defects in exocytosis of insulin from persisting beta cells in type 1 diabetes: molecular identification and therapeutic strategies to restore insulin secretion, improve glucose homeostasis and avert secondary complications"

Sanofi Award – Janet Rowan "Which diagnostic criteria for gestational diabetes are best for women and babies health? The GEMS Study"

Sanofi Award  – Karyn Ballance  "Location location location: Anatomical 3D mapping of diabetic foot ulcerations"


The Executive Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 research awards:

Rosie Dobson, NZSSD award:  ‘Long term effectiveness of SMS4BG’    Report R Dobson

Ben Wheeler, Pharmaco Diabetes and i-SENS Inc.: ‘The impact of flash glucose monitoring on sleep and physical activity among adolescents with suboptimal glycaemic control’

Lynne Chepulis, Sanofi:  ‘The effects of maternal diabetes on the neonatal gut microbiome’


The winners of the 2017 research awards:

Helen Lunt Sanofi C-type natriuretic peptide (CNP) as a candidate marker of chronic kidney disease in diabetes

Jeremy Krebs Pharmaco and i:Sens IncA Novel Treatment for Type 2 Diabetes; ‘First in Man’ Proof of Concept Study

Kate Smallman and Karen Pickering NZSSD how can we effectively measure the impact of healthy lifestyle-related education provided to 5-6 year old new-entrant children in the primary school context, particularly in South Auckland


NZSSD best oral student presentation awarded to: Hyun Young Park

Medi’Ray best oral nursing/allied health professional perennation awarded to: Joanna McClintock

NZSSD best innovative service delivery awarded to:  Janine Strickland

Novo Nordisk registrar poster award to: Shekhar Sehgal 


The Executive Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 research awards.

Amber Parry-Strong NZSSD Award: Probiotics and Prebiotics in Prediabetes (P3D): A pilot project trialling the use of prebiotic and probiotic supplements to reduce blood sugar levels, blood pressure and improve lipid profiles in adults with pre diabetes

Geoff Braatvedt Sanofi Award: Corneal nerve microstructural changes in diabetes after bariatric surgery

Rinki Murphy Pharmaco Award: Fecal microbiota transplantation to improve insulin sensitivity

Rosemary Hall NZMS Award: Do changes in glucose metabolism and energy expenditure after weight loss differ amongst ethnic groups in New Zealand?

It is expected that the output of research supported by a NZSSD grant will be presented at a future NZSSD ASM.

Best oral presentation by a young/first time presenter:


 Best poster presentation by a young/first time presenter:




Winners announced at the NZSSD Annual Scientific Meeting on 7 May 2015 were:

Jeremy Krebs Astra Zeneca award: Changes in DNA methylation in a group with type 2 diabetes after weight loss

Rinki Murphy Eli Lilly award: Gut microbiota changes after bariatric surgery linked to metabolic benefits

Shiva Reddy Sanofi award: Identifying Key Checkpoints…

Kirsten Coppell Pharmaco award: Prediabetes Lifestyle Intervention

Helen Lunt NZMS award: Use of new blood collection tubes for the measurement of plasma glucose


2014 recipients:

Rinki Murphy Sanofi: Pregnancy might provide an opportunity to identify women at high risk of developing metabolic syndrome and subsequent cardiovascular disease and death

Chris Baldi i-Sens Pharmaco: Comparing the cardiovascular benefits of two six-month exercise programmes in middle aged participants with type 2 diabetes

Anna Friis Eli-Lilly: Self Compassion in Diabetes

Craig Jefferies NZMS: Evaluating QT interval in type 1 DM children and comparing QT interval variaton with day to day variation in glucose excursions on cgms



NZSSD professional development awards:

Awards available to those members who have been financial members for at least 18 months.


More information




NZDF Fellowship -

NZDF Fellowship Application Form.

applications closed 1 September 2015 for the period of study 1.1.2016 to 31.12.2016



NZSSD Conference Grants

The Executive wishes to assist non-physician financial members to attend the Annual Scientific Meeting by awarding grants to assist with travel costs.  Applicants must have been financial members for at least 6 months to qualify


Apply here